Treats: Health in a Box Is So Much More than Just Healthy!


My sister and I had been seeing the HomeChef posts on Facebook for a while now. But we hadn’t thought to try it out until our parents left for Umrah (pilgrimage) last month. Left without the Mother of Cooks, we tried staying afloat for a while. I made dinner every day but we needed a lunch solution.
We also needed it to be:

  • Reasonably priced
  • Healthy
  • Easily delivered to our respective workplaces
  • Hassle-free
  • Filling

HomeChef ticked all the boxes and more. They offer different options, from weekly bundles to daily orders. If you are watching what you eat, you can opt for one of the several lean options. They range from veggie and fruit salad meals and other delectable treats. We did that and we are loving Treats’ Health in a Box. HomeChef delivers it within the time slot of your choosing. They also take the money upfront, so you don’t have to keep paying for the meals every time.

We tried it out for a week. It didn’t take me longer than having my first meal on Monday to decide that this merited a detailed review. So, I’ll start with previous week’s menu:

Week 1

It arrives…

Monday

Bran Mini Buns
Mixed Beans Salad
Chicken Wings

@the wings, I felt a bit cheated when presented with one and half a wing instead of two whole ones. My sister got the same. They had been steamed but tasted so good that I didn’t even miss the oil clogging my arteries further.
Mixed beans salad was resplendent with all kinds of beans. From green mung ones to kidney beans and chickpeas. The verdict? I loved the tangy and sweet and spicy dressing and everything it covered!
The bran buns won my heart because I am a bread person — can’t help it! I squashed the longing to slather them with butter as I devoured them both.
I couldn’t eat all of the salad in one sitting, so I saved some and substituted it for my sugary evening snack.


Tuesday

Alu Terkari
Bran Chapati
Chicken Seekh Kabab

The alu terkari had been drizzled with curry leaf fried in oil, which made it more than delish. And of course, who wouldn’t love a potato-based curry? Not I!
The bran chapati was bigger than I expected but every bit as tasty as non-bran ones. Actually, no. It was tastier. What can I say? I love me some whole grains.
The seekh kababs hadn’t been fried but tasted amazing.
Another meal that was quite filling. But I get peckish in the evening.

Wednesday

Khawsuey

Okay, full disclosure: I missed this meal because I wasn’t at work on Wednesday! But a colleague was there who got to enjoy it instead. She said it was good and spicy and more than adequate in quantity.

Thursday

Green Salad and Mashed Potatoes

Chicken Tikka Croissant Sandwich
Peri Peri Sauce

The greens were fresh and crunchy and the mashed potato was creamy. The serving size had been deliberately kept small to limit the number of calories and I didn’t mind that at all. Less of the potatoes also meant that I could do justice to the delicious croissant sandwich. It was good sized and everything from the bread to the chicken tasted fresh and good. Wasn’t a huge fan of the peri peri because it tasted of nothing but the chilies.
This was a relatively light meal, which meant I was stark raving hangry by the time I reached home.

Friday

Peruvian Chicken with Brown Rice

So, I might have not been at work for this one either. My colleague said she liked the meal enough to be almost swayed into ordering a weekly plan for herself. The keyword being almost.

The three meals that I had had convinced me to order another package for myself. My sister concurred. The week has just started, so I have Monday’s meal’s description for you. But first, the menu:

Week 2

Monday

Corn Chana Chaat and Tamarind Sauce
Chicken Chapli Bun Kabab

Okay, the chaat was good and smothering it in the tamarind chutney made it even better. I spotted corn, gram seeds, chickpea, and green mung beans in it. The chapli kabab was perfection. Beautifully seasoned and spiced and moist as heck. I loved it!
Very filling and kept me full until I reached home.

I think I will continue with the service. Would you like to sign up for a weekly bundle too? You get a 15% off coupon when you do!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.